2019 Distinguished Lecturer: Joe Deutscher (BE'85)

Joe Deutscher

We are honoured to have Joe Deutscher (BE'85) as our C.J. Mackenzie Distinguished Lecturer for 2019, the 43rd anniversary of the gala.

Since graduating from chemical engineering in 1985, Joe Deutscher has led a thriving career with Dow Chemical. His career has taken him across the globe in various engineering, manufacturing, project management, and leadership roles with the company. Joe has held several roles at Dow Canada sites including Fort Saskatchewan, Sarnia, and Prentiss, as well as at Dow Chemical USA sites of Hanging Rock, Ohio, and Freeport, Texas.  

In 2002, Joe moved to The Netherlands at Dow’s Terneuzen petrochemical complex and returned in 2006 to Canada to become Site Leader at the Prentiss, Alberta site. In 2008, Joe became Dow Chemical Canada’s Vice President, which also included overseeing Dow’s international polyethylene operations in the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, Thailand, Argentina, and the USA. In 2016, Joe moved to Saudi Arabia for his current role as Operations Director of Hydrocarbons, Energy, and Plastics, where he has been responsible for the start up and process stabilization of cracking, aromatics, and plastic production units, and utilities at the Sadara Chemical Company, a joint venture of Aramco and Dow.  This represents the largest, integrated chemical production facility ever constructed in a single phase.

Joe is a leader in the workplace and in the community. He has been on the Board of Directors for the United Way of Central Alberta, chair of the Alberta Plastics Recycling Association, and also chair of the Northeast Capital Industrial Association. He also served as the Deputy Chair on the campaign cabinet for the United Way of the Alberta Capital Region. 

About the Distinguished Lecturer

Each year, disciplines rotate hosting the C.J. Mackenzie Gala where an alumnus who has achieved prominence in their profession is honouring as the evening’s Distinguished Lecturer and inducted to the College of Engineering Alumni Wall of Distinction. The host department and a panel committee choose an alumnus who graduated from their program. In 2018, Mechanical Engineering honoured their alumnus, Mike Marsh, and in 2019, Chemical Engineering will host the gala to honour the achievements of Joe Deutscher (chemical engineering - BE'85). The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is proud to host the 2020 C.J. Mackenzie Gala.

Past Distinguished Lecturers

2019 - Joe Deutscher, Chemical Engineering, 1985
2018 - Michael Marsh, Mechanical Engineering, 1979
2017 - Dr. Karim (Kay) Nasser, Civil Engineering, PhD 1965
2016 - Marvin F. Romanow, Electrical Engineering, 1977
2015 - Gilbert LeDressay, Chemical Engineering, 1989
2014 - Charles Till, Engineering Physics, 1956
2013 - Jim MacNeill, Mechanical Engineering, 1958
2012 - Ronald (Ron) L. Graham, Civil Engineering, 1962
2011 - Don Bateman, Electrical Engineering, 1956
2010 - David Manz, Agricultural Engineering, 1972
2009 - Tom Anselmi, Civil Engineering, 1985
2008 - W. Brett Wilson, Civil Engineering, 1979
2007 - Andrea A. Cherkas, Chemical Engineering, 1983
2006 - Morrel Bachynski, Engineering Physics, 1952
2005 - Al Schreiner, Mechanical Engineering, 1963
2004 - Paul Gagnon, Geological Engineering, 1959
2003 - Donald J. Listwin, Electrical Engineering, 1980
2002 - Harry M. Hill, Agricultural Engineering, 1956
2001 - Russel J. Renneberg, Civil Engineering, 1976
2000 - Cecil F. Shewchuk, Chemical Engineering, 1971
1999 - James A. Serak, Engineering Physics, 1983
1998 - Arthur E. Dumont, Mechanical Engineering, 1967
1997 - Thomas L. Davis, Geophysical Engineering, 1969
1996 - John S. Webb, Electrical Engineering, 1973
1995 - Gregory (Greg) J. Clark, Agricultural Engineering, 1964
1994 - J. D. (Jack) Mollard, Civil Engineering, 1945
1993 - Charles R. Tittemore, Chemical Engineering, 1942
1992 - Dennis W. Johnson, Engineering Physics, 1957
1991 - Byron J. Seaman, Mechanical Engineering, 1945
1990 - John A. Cherry, Geological Engineering, 1962
1989 - H. Douglas Barber, Electrical Engineering, 1959
1988 - Charles (Glenn) E. Downing, Agricultural Engineering, 1940
1987 - James P. Hutch, Civil Engineering, 1961
1986 - James M. Hay, Chemical Engineering, 1950
1985 - Gustav O. P. Handegord, Mechanical Engineering, 1946
1984 - Allan Crawford, Electrical Engineering, 1955
1983 - Clinton D. A. Dahlstrom, Geological Engineering, 1949
1982 - Herbert (Bert) T. Hargrave, Agricultural Engineering, 1942
1981 - Lorne G. W. McConnel, Engineering Physics, 1945
1980 - John (Jack) W. Poole, Civil Engineering, 1954
1979 - John L. Stoik, Chemical Engineering, 1947
1978 - C. Bruce Campbell, Mechanical Engineering, 1948
1977 - John Shewchuk, Mechanical Engineering, 1960