The Student Awards Committee is established to grant the awards, scholarships and bursaries open to Engineering undergraduate students.

Committee Members

The Committee consists of:
  1. the Associate Dean – Academic as Chair;
  2. six College of Engineering Faculty Council members comprised of one representative from each of the following units:
    • Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
    • Department of Civil & Geological Engineering
    • Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
    • Department of Mechanical Engineering
    • School of Professional Development
    • Department of Physics & Engineering Physics; and
  3. a staff member providing administrative leadership to undergraduate awards as designated by the Director, Engineering Student Centre (ex-officio and non-voting).

College of Engineering Development Officers will be invited as guests to the Committee meetings.

Administrative support for the Committee will be provided by the Engineering Student Centre.


The Committee shall respect the following principles in its work:
  • ensuring fairness, competence, transparency and inclusiveness in granting awards;
  • advancing the College’s priorities through the process of granting awards; and
  • promoting an atmosphere of student appreciation and recognition in the College of Engineering.


The Committee, under the direction of the Chair, is responsible for fulfilling its mandate by undertaking activities including but not limited to:
  • distributing available awards, scholarships and bursaries;
  • ensuring the selection of the best candidate in accordance with the award terms of reference and, where possible, College priorities; and
  • making recommendations on award, scholarship and bursary terms of reference and on college policies and procedures regarding the distribution of awards, scholarships and bursaries to the Associate Dean – Academic, on request.
The Chair of the Committee is responsible for:
  • ensuring the Committee operates in accordance with its Terms of Reference, other Faculty Council and University Council bylaws and within University policy;
  • requesting the presence of non-committee members as needed; and
  • representing the Committee at Faculty Council meetings.