About Us

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan consists of 23 faculty (including 2 Canada Research Chairs) and 8 staff. The department is one of four departments in the College of Engineering, along with the Departments of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Civil and Geological Engineering, and Electrical and Computer Engineering.   The department is also connected to interdiciplinary programs in the college including Engineering Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Environmental Engineering.  The College of Engineering began in 1912.

Our undergraduate program has been fully accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board since the beginning of the accreditation program in 1965.  This allows graduates of the program to apply for registration as Professional Engineers in all provinces of Canada, after obtaining acceptable engineering experience. Undergraduate students begin specialization in Mechanical Engineering at the beginning of the second year of their four year program, after completing their first year in the general engineering program.  Undergraduate enrolment in the department in the final three years totals approximately 300.

The department offers graduate programs at the M.Eng., M.Sc. and Ph.D level. Students work on research projects that range from fundamental investigations to applied research aimed at solving current industrial problems. Graduate student enrolment is approximately 70 students.

The department is involved in research with partners within Saskatchewan, across Canada, and around the world.  Research is supported by over 100 highly qualified personnel (graduate students, summer students, postdoctoral fellows, research engineers, research associates and visiting scholars).

The department maintains strong industrial links through its research program. Industry and our partners in government and other organizations also participate in our undergraduate and graduate program, including our second and fourth year design courses.